All Breeds Dog forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pet Insurance help

+2
Eleanor
Deactivated Upon Request
6 posters

Go down

Pet Insurance help Empty Pet Insurance help

Post by Deactivated Upon Request Thu Dec 04, 2014 12:46 pm

We've just had a call to say that they've found two more lumps that will need to be removed from Oreo and are they ok to do it at the same time.

Of course I said yes but they dropped out that the insurance company will probably consider this as three seperate claims given that it's three sepeate lumps and therefore three seperate excesses.

Now I work in insurance (all be it in a different type) but feel that this is disgusting.

Now as Oreo is already under surely the cost to the vet is minimul given that drugs were already given to Oreo and she will probably only be under slightly longer than should would have for one lump removal. So from the vets perspective I feel it a little naughty they are suggesting they are charging for three lots of opperations given that actually only one has occured.

Now in regards to the insurance aspect does the same thing not apply?

I would pay anything to make sure Oreo is healthy but when I specifically by insurance for this reason feel it's a bit naughty to be paying out three lots of excess for the same thing.

Can anyone shed any light on how these companies work?
Deactivated Upon Request
Deactivated Upon Request

Back to top Go down

Pet Insurance help Empty Re: Pet Insurance help

Post by Eleanor Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:24 pm

I'm not an expert, but I'm pretty sure that the claim works on the vet's recommendations. If the vet says that the three lumps are related, it should all come under the same problem and the same claim. I'd contact your insurance company directly about it, first! happy
Eleanor
Eleanor

Time Online : 5m 1s
Names of Dogs : Dempsey

Back to top Go down

Post by Lorraine Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:09 pm